Today I lost 60 reputation point and the message just read "user removed". Does that mean that a user was taken off the system and that when that is done the persons votes get removed from the system? Seems like I lost a lot of point this way.
I found a clue on meta SO in a comment posted by an SE employee:
We've always removed votes when deleting a user, this is absolutely not new behavior, it's happened from day 1. ... The immense complication it introduces by not doing that...wow, I don't even want to think about that on a weekend.
In other words, although there are good arguments for not removing votes, we are told there are significant programming difficulties in making that happen.